Fitzwilly’s; Northampton, MA

From Fitzwillys.com

Last weekend I went on a little “date night” to Fitzwilly’s in Northampton, MA. We wanted to get out of Amherst and my mom recommended this place where she and my dad used to go, so we figured why not? We pulled up at 8 and the place was packed, but luckily there were only two of us so we sat immediately. The restaurant was neat inside and to me felt like a maze. The hostess sat us in a hallway on the second floor filled with tables of two, which Jeff and I called the “date section” because it was all couples sharing plates of spaghetti (kidding). The one thing I was a little apprehensive about was that the bars that sided the railing next to me had a lot of room for things to fall. Me, being a klutz, had to make sure I kept my knife and drink were on the opposite side of the table because really, what would I have done if I had dropped those on someone below!

The menu was huge and one of the hardest decisions was deciding not to get Chef Willy’s Nachos, because honestly, I’d rather get dessert, and theres no way I’m eating three courses. The waitress had to come over three times before I decided on the Grilled Salmon Citrus Salad and he on a Bacon Cheeseburger, which was lated dubbed as “the best burger I swear I’ve ever had in my entire life”. A salad for me was shocking because I’m usually all about the french fries but I was trying to be healthy since my body hadn’t had a workout in the first two weeks back at school.

The food luckily came quickly because we had both been fasting since lunchtime. My salad was the perfect size, consisting of greens, apples, oranges, craisens, fennel, wontons and a perfect vinaigrette. Everything on our plates was devoured in minutes and was absolutely delicious!

The night ended with a stroll around downtown Northampton, a pit-stop in Urban Outfitters, being attacked by a group of 8-year-olds throwing rocks at us me (that was really fun), and of course, ice cream (with hot fudge).

In case you decided to keep reading this far, as you could probably tell this was my first “restaurant review”. I’ll get better as I continue. I promise.

2 thoughts on “Fitzwilly’s; Northampton, MA

Leave a Reply

