My Momma’s Apple Pie

I promised I’d post some recipes this weekend – so here we go!

First off I have to credit this recipe to the Pillsbury Kitchens’ Family Cookbook published in 1979! My mom has all her own recipes kept in a little box in the kitchen (which is what I use as I am still starting out) but this one was credited to another book. This is the most battered and used cookbook I’ve ever seen, but it reminds me of home. My mother got it as a wedding shower gift back in 1982 and she uses it at least once a week.

8″ Apple Pie

Double-crust pastry (I bought mine :X but my mom always makes her own)

5 cups peeled and sliced apples (about 7 apples)

2/3 cup sugar

2 Tbsp. flour

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

Dash of salt

1 Tbsp. butter

Start by preheating the oven to 425 degrees F. In a large bowl, combine the apples, sugar, flour, cinnamon and salt and toss lightly to mix. Turn the mixture into the lined pie pan. Cut up your butter into little squares and place randomly on top of the apples. Add the top pie crust, seal and flute edges. Make sure to cut slits for the steam to escape. Bake for 40 to 45 minutes or until juices start to bubble through the slits.

Enjoy! xox

One thought on “My Momma’s Apple Pie

Leave a Reply

